Drawing Hope

I’m almost twenty-seven, and these are a few of my favorite things:

Creative Adult

  • drawing, sketching, and otherwise doodling
  • building dollhouses
  • climbing trees
  • exploring toy aisles
  • reading picture books
  • building blanket forts

So I guess I’m the child who survived, all the while singing Julie Andrews songs in the shower.

As a kid growing up, if I couldn’t have the thing I wanted, I would either write it or draw it into my life.  Usually those things were swimming pools and ponies and, on the occasion I was feeling particularly adventurous, haunted houses.  I found out early on that I could actually create my own happiness.

Now I’m all growed-up, and I find myself doing the same thing.  Some people think I’m sweetly naive.  Some people look surprised when I tell them I went out and earned degrees in art and in music.  I’m sure a lot of people don’t really understand why there’s a permanent blanket fort in the bedroom or why I climb trees barefoot or why I carry a sketchbook everywhere I go, or even why I’m still collecting children’s books and lalaloopsies and building them little houses and bunkbeds (for their comfort, of course).

But this is the thing.  I know who I am and I know what I want my life to be, and I know that I can create that life.  That doesn’t mean that I’ve settled on:

  • opening my own comfort food cafe
  • becoming an architect
  • working toward a career in interior design
  • buying a zoo
  • working as a professional hot air balloon pilot
  • writing and illustrating books
  • playing in the London Horn Sound
  • saving dolphins
  • starting an art therapy program
  • teaching
  • becoming the first whimsical President of the United States! (maybe not)
  • etc. etc. etc.

It just means that I’m comfortable making life what I want it to be, whether it be all of these things or none of them.

If you want to know what in the world I think I’m doing, I’ll tell you.  I’ve drawn hope into my life, and I want to draw hope into the world.  That’s all.  And while I’m being overly mushy (I got a degree in that as well), I want to thank my family and friends and my husband and all the kittens and puppies in my life for being so supportive of my wild and crazy dreams of never actually growing up.  Everything I do, I dedicate to you!

One thought on “Drawing Hope

  1. I came upon your blog post through Googling for this quote. I saw it on a journal icon and loved it so much that I wanted to see if anyone had made t-shirts with it. (They have!)

    This is an old post, so I don’t know if you will see my comment. But I wanted to say thank you so much for everything you’ve said here. I grew up in a family that was Always Serious. It’s not their fault. My parents had hard lives growing up and when they had kids all they did was work really hard at difficult, awful jobs to provide for their family. They never had time or money or opportunity to enjoy life at all. Their “enjoyment” was just to raise their kids.

    But even as a child I knew there had to be more to life than just working miserable jobs and doing chores on the weekends. Most of the adults I saw around me seemed tired from working all the time and had little energy left for anything humorous, beautiful or fun. I swore I would never become a boring old grownup like that!

    I was always the “Get your head out of the clouds and do something useful!” sort of kid. I wish I had followed that more closely. I have such a mental block even now when it comes to anything “artsy” because I was always told that it was a waste of time – something you might do for fun, but in the real world you need to do something PRACTICAL.

    But I do still take singing lessons when I can. I have a great sense of humor. I still listen to and watch the same sorts of music and TV/movies I did when I was a child/teen. I own and wear in public a My Little Pony and a Daffy Duck t-shirt. (Along with many others!) I’ve done child care for a few years now and I get more involved in their games and stories than even they do sometimes. Sometimes I forget I am supposed to be the grownup! So I guess I have done okay.

    I wish I could unblock the creative side, though. I wanted to a be a writer since I was in 3rd grade… but I never could figure out what to write. I guess I am a writer without a plot. I think I made a mental block for myself, knowing that my family would just never quite see such a thing as “work,” Here I am nearing 50 and I’m still stuck on that. Wow.

    Anyway, I’ve yammered on. All of this just to say thank you.

Leave a Reply

