The Birthday Party

“Death will give us back to God, just like the setting sun is returned to the lonesome ocean.”   – Bright Eyes, “At the Bottom of Everything”

Usually, when I take the things that make me sad, and turn them into art, I feel better at the end of it all.  It’s therapeutic.  It’s soothing.  It allows me to work through things, to see them differently, to become involved in the line and the color of the memory.  After finishing this illustration, I didn’t really feel much better at all, but I am glad I put it down on paper.  “It’s a birthday party, happy birthday.  We love you very, very, very, very, very, very, very much.”  Start humming a song.  It goes like this:

Calligraphy ink, crayola markers, acrylic paint, sharpie, and stamps on frosted mylar and transparency,

6 thoughts on “The Birthday Party

  1. The stamps do give it an interesting look. Are you gonna add more color to the whole thing? Or maybe just the stamps?

    I loved seeing you go through this process from beginning to what it is now. And it is sad that the ink wasn’t dry enough when you put the transparency down.

    Its going to make a very nice light box.

    • I’m not adding any more color – I’d like to keep it simple. I rather like the way the ink smudges and smears, so I’m not worried about dry ink…it makes it feel sad. 🙂

  2. I love this piece. I was sitting next to Mr. Perkins and he put his arm around me and asked if I was ok because I was crying so hard. It still brings tears to my eyes when I think about it (or look at this drawing) and David A. wasn’t my mentor. I can’t imagine how you and the rest of BT feel. Your art certainly honors him though. Well done!

Leave a Reply

